We believe it’s essential for applicants to the Nigerian Police Force to have a thorough understanding of the force’s structure and operational framework, including its zones and their respective zonal headquarters.

This knowledge provides insight into the force’s geographical scope and administrative divisions. It equips you with valuable information that could benefit your application process and future career within the organization.

Familiarity with the zonal commands and their headquarters will help you appreciate the vastness and diversity of the policing landscape in Nigeria, preparing you for the diverse challenges and opportunities you may encounter in your service to the nation.

The Nigerian Police Force is a national law enforcement agency in Nigeria. It was officially established in 1930 and evolved through various phases and reorganizations over the decades to become its current entity.

The Nigerian Police is responsible for maintaining public order, enforcing laws, and preventing, detecting, and investigating criminal activities nationwide. It operates under the jurisdiction of the Federal Ministry of Police Affairs and is overseen by the Inspector General of Police.

The organizational structure of the Nigerian Police includes several administrative divisions known as zones. Each zone is responsible for policing activities within a specific geographical area, often encompassing multiple states. This zonal system enables the force to manage its resources more efficiently and ensures that local policing needs are met. The zonal commands are pivotal in the administrative and operational strategies of the Nigerian Police, facilitating closer supervision, faster response times, and a more intimate understanding of the local communities they serve.

Below is a tabulated summary of the Nigerian Police Zones, their respective headquarters, and the states under their jurisdiction. Please note that information on Zones 11 and 12 is not provided according to NPF’s website and is therefore omitted from the table.

Zone NumberHeadquarters LocationStates CoveredTotal Land Mass (Square Kilometers)
1Kano, Kano StateJigawa, Kano43,285
2Lagos, Lagos StateLagos, Ogun43,285
3Yola, Adamawa StateAdamawa, Taraba91,193
4Makurdi, Benue StateBenue, Plateau, Nasarawa92,089
5Benin City, Edo StateEdo, Delta35,500
6Calabar, Cross River StateAkwa-Ibom, Cross-River27,237
7FCT, AbujaFCT, Niger84,363
8Lokoja, Kogi StateKogi, Kwara66,658
9Umuahia, Abia StateImo, Ebonyi, Abia17,520
10Sokoto, Sokoto StateKebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara336,355
13Ukpo-Dunukofia, Anambra StateEnugu, Anambra12,002
14Katsina, Katsina StateKatsina, Kaduna70,245
15Maiduguri, Borno StateBorno, Yobe116,400
16Yenagoa, Bayelsa StateBayelsa, Rivers21,850
17Akure, Ondo StateOndo, Ekiti21,853

Related post:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *